SemI40

  • Industry 4.0: cyber physical systems, the internet of things and cloud computing connect to enable automation and data exchange in manufacturing

  • The future-oriented project “SemI4.0“ strengthens Europe’s economy through intelligent production

37 partners, five countries, 62 million Euros budget – these are the cornerstones of the project SemI4.0. Infineon Austria heads one of the largest industry 4.0 research projects focusing on ‘smart factories’. 

In a 'smart factory‘, pre-programmed assembly lines no longer handle individual manufacturing steps; rather the assembly lines take decisions independently  - automatically and with a consistent quality output.

This allows shifting responsibilities away from humans and freeing them for tasks that are more complex.  

The University of Applied Sciences Burgenland is a project partner in this reputable project. Under the guidance of the Master’s program director Cloud Computing Engineering, Dr. Markus Tauber, the research team addresses the question how one can transfer data from the cloud to the robot in a secure manner. In this communication, both software and machines are susceptible to failure.

'This European project makes an important contribution to strengthening production and employment in Europe and thus to securing its significance as economic and technology base', declares Sabine Herlitschka, Managing Director of Infineon Austria. She asserts “all organisations involved benefit from this international cooperation and create a competitive edge.”

In addition to the concrete applications, the project also looks into societal impacts on the workplace of the future. Industry 4.0, which heavily relies on the communication between machines, changes job requirements and requirements concerning future employees’ qualifications.  Tomorrow’s job profiles must already be taken into consideration today.

Research activities connected to the project SemI4.0 contribute to saving more than 20 000 jobs in the companies participating in the project.

The work/A part of the work has been performed in the project Power Semiconductor and Electronics Manufacturing 4.0 (SemI40), under grant agreement No 692466. The project is co-funded by grants from Austria, Germany, Italy, France, Portugal and - Electronic Component Systems for European Leadership Joint Undertaking (ECSEL JU).

Funding agency

Project leader

Project team

Project coordinator

Project team

Oliver Schluga
Elisabeth Bauer

Print site Print site
mobile

SemI40

  • Industrie 4.0: Maschinen und Dinge reden miteinander und vernetzen sich zur klugen Fabrik

  • Zukunftsprojekt „SemI40“ stärkt Europas Wirtschaft durch intelligente Produktion

37 Partner, fünf Länder, 62 Millionen Euro Budget – das sind die Eckpfeiler des Forschungsprojekts SemI40. Es ist eines der größten Forschungsprojekte zum Thema Industrie 4.0 und erforscht unter der Leitung von Infineon Austria „lernende Fabriken“. 

Mit „lernenden Fabriken“ ist gemeint, dass die einzelnen Arbeitsschritte in der Fabrik nicht mehr von vorprogrammierten Maschinen erledigt werden, sondern dass die Produktionsanlage zunehmend  selbst Entscheidungen trifft – automatisiert und bei konstanter Qualität.

Damit soll der Mensch entlastet und frei für komplexere Aufgaben werden. 

Die FH Burgenland, Forschungspartnerin in diesem hochrangigen Projekt, widmet sich unter der Leitung von Studiengangsleiter des Masterstudiengangs Cloud Computing Engineering Markus Tauber vor allem der Fragestellung, wie Daten von der Cloud zum Roboter sicher transportiert werden können. Denn hier kann es sowohl bei den Maschinen als auch bei der Software zu Fehlern kommen.

„Das europäische Projekt leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag, um Produktion und Arbeitsplätze in Europa stärken und halten zu können und damit den Wirtschafts- und Technologiestandort zu sichern“, so Sabine Herlitschka, Vorstandsvorsitzende von Infineon Austria. „Von der Kooperation über Ländergrenzen profitieren alle beteiligten Organisationen und schaffen damit Wettbewerbsvorteile.“

Neben konkreten Anwendungsbereichen erforscht das Projekt auch die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen auf die Arbeitsplätze der Zukunft. Durch Industrie 4.0., also der Kommunikation zwischen Maschinen, verändern sich nämlich auch Arbeitsfunktionen und Qualifikationen der Beschäftigten. Anforderungen an die Jobprofile der Zukunft müssen bereits heute berücksichtigt werden. Durch seine Forschungsaktivitäten trägt das Projekt SemI40 dazu bei, mehr als 20.000 Arbeitsplätze in den beteiligten Betrieben zu sichern. 

Ein Teil der Arbeit wurde im Rahmen des Projekts Power Semiconductor and Electronics Manufacturing 4.0 (SemI4.0), Fördervertragsnr. 692466, erledigt. Das Projekt wird kofinanziert durch Mittel aus Österreich, Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich, Portugal und dem ECSEL JU (Electronic Systems for European Leadership Joint Undertaking – der gemeinsamen Unternehmung, die die europäische Führungsrolle bei elektronischen Systeme befördert).

Fördergeber

SemI40 wird vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (bmvit) im Rahmen des Programms IKT der Zukunft im Zeitraum 1.5.2016 - 30.4.2019 gefördert. Weiterführende Information zu IKT der Zukunft findet sich unter www.bmvit.gv.at/ikt

Projektleitung

Projektteam FH Burgenland

Projektkoordination

Projektmitarbeiter

Oliver Schluga
Elisabeth Bauer

Seite drucken Seite drucken
mobile